NOEL

I guess you could say this December I’m trying new things. Some have not worked out so well….others I’m still waiting it out! What am I talking about? Well….

I’ve had the same artificial green Christmas tree for the last 13 years. It has seen tinsel, old fashioned icicles, garland galore…and well, frankly I was tired of all that. I wanted a snowy white Christmas tree! But I am cheap! I didn’t want to buy a new one…especially not if I could come up with a way to make my old tree look new! So what did I come up with? Big Idea #1..Ahem….

Baby powder & sticky craft spray!

It was all good for the first few minutes. I was spraying and then puffing that white powder all over that tree, and it looked great! Until….

I realized how much of that powder was floating around in the air! I (cough!) couldn’t (cough!) breathe (cough!)!

I knew it was a total disaster when I watched my 9 yr. old walk over to the tree, blow on it, see the clouds of powder fly about and announce “Hey guys, come watch this! It’s so cool!”

So now what was I to do? I was without my regular old faithful green tree, and I couldn’t possibly keep this one in the house in this state!

In walks bright idea #2!

I figured I could just pull the darn thing out back and shake the powder from the tree…sounds easy enough right?

Wrong!

Wrong!

Wrong!

First of all, a forest fire’s got nothing on a baby powdered tree being shaken to death! I couldn’t see, I couldn’t breath, but fortunately for me I could hear the SNAP! That’s right, the danged ‘ol tree snapped in two!

Well, I pretty much just stood there covered in white powder from head to toe in total disbelief! How was it that earlier that morning I’d had a perfectly good Christmas tree ready to adorn with Christmas goodies, and now I had a house to fumigate and a broken tree?

I’ll tell you how…

Hello. My name is Angie and I love BIG ideas! Unfortunately for me, BIG disasters seem to follow!

But wait! The story gets better! Turns out, Chicken had some gift cards from some serious couponing and He and the boys..and girl…managed to get me the perfect Christmas tree for $4! That’s right…FOUR DOLLARS! It is perfect. It is green with a few snowy looking branches mixed in…PERFECT! I love it! And all because of a BIG idea gone awry! Well, that and a terrific husband and kids!

Now, I’f you’ve made it this far, I applaud you….and Thank You! But, I have one more favor….

You see, there is this little Children’s Book competition going on about a Christmas mishap, and I am entering! I’ve never entered a manuscript competition before and I’ve never written a story based on a theme given by someone else, but it just so happens that my Christmas tree fiasco fit in perfectly with the timing and theme of this little competition….so….here it is! My very first manuscript competition entry….

A children’s picture book for the younger crowd (ages 2-6)
*I enlisted the help of my 7yr. old for the pics*

NOEL

Noel’s Christmas tree was green. She wanted a snowy white one.

Noel thought and thought….

Noel had baby powder. Noel had sticky crafting spray.

Noel had a BIG idea!

SCN_0001

“FA, LA, LA, LA, LA…..UH-OH”!

Noel’s Christmas tree was snowy white, but this wasn’t quite what she had expected!

SCN_0002

COUGH, COUGH! COUGH!

Noel thought and thought….

SCN_0004

Noel had a BIG idea!

Noel could pull the tree outside, and shake her powdered tree clean! It was the perfect solution!

“JINGLE BELLS, JINGLE BELLS”!

SNAP!

SCN_0003

“AWE SNICKERDOODLE’S!”

This was NOT what Noel had expected!

Noel stood in disbelief.

Noel was out of BIG ideas. Noel had NO snowy white tree. Noel had NO Christmas tree of green.

Noel went to bed feeling blue.

SCN_0005

“I FEEL SO BLUE”!

The next morning, Noel stood in awe….

SCN_0006

The splendid tree of green and snowy white, in all its Christmas Glory, beamed before her!

SCN_0007

Noel smiled. She had wonderful friends, and they too had BIG ideas!

Noel was grateful and wanted to repay her friends for their kindness….

SCN_0008

But that’s a whole other story!

THE END

So…what do you think? If you like it, and I hope you do, please go to http://susannahill.blogspot.com/ on Monday December 16th to see if I’m a finalist! If so, voting will be open to the public for their favorites until 5pm. Eastern time Wednesday, December 18th! Heck, go there right now and read some of the other fabulous entries as well!

Wish me luck! And go try something new…just steer clear of the baby powder!

This entry was posted in My Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to NOEL

  1. So cute! Love the pics too. :)

  2. I like how you turned your disaster into a children’s story.

  3. Oh my goodness…I really, really loved your wonderfully and whimsically illustrated story! Actually, it’s more like two stories, yours and Noel’s. ;) I’m so glad you entered the contest…and good luck!

  4. jackiewellington21 says:

    This is cute. I cheer for Noel. :D Loved it!

  5. Yvonne Mes says:

    What a lovely post, great to read the story behind the story. And what a talented family, illustrators and all.

  6. Hurray for Noel! And great illustrations :-)
    My toddler once got into the baby powder and WHEW was it a mess! On the plus side, it did decrease the squeakiness of the old wood floor in his bedroom!

    Merry Christmas!

  7. Now that’s a real mishap story! Great job, and your illustrator is fantastic! Happy Holidays! :0)

  8. I loved first hearing the adult story and then seeing how it became a children’s story. I especially loved the lines, “Noel had NO snowy white tree. Noel had NO Christmas tree of green. Noel went to bed feeling blue” and the surprise ending! Oh, and your illustrator ROCKS.

  9. Thank You for the kind words Michelle! I’m glad you liked it! I’ll let the 7 yr. old know you approve! :)

  10. What a great story! I agree with Michelle – it was wonderful to hear the ‘adult version’ and then read the ‘kid version.’

  11. They are fabulous mishaps, super story and awesome illustrations :0)

  12. Bridget =) says:

    Love it!!!! ;) i don’t know if I am more amused at your baby powder idea OR the fact that you got a new tree for $4!!!!!!!!!!!!! Shut the front door!!!! ;)

    • HaHa! The lady at the checkout counter couldn’t believe it either! She kept saying over and over again “I’ve never seen anybody do this before”! It was my little Christmas miracle! :) Thanks for reading Bridget!

  13. Juliana Lee says:

    Cute story and illustrations!

  14. Donna Smith says:

    Great story. Loved the ending! I guess soon there will be a quick trip to the grocery store for Oreos with red filling.

  15. deborahholtwilliams says:

    They say we should write what we know–and you surely did! How fun that you turned a disaster into a darling story!

  16. What a terrific and comical story, Angie! I love that it really happened – you and your bright ideas :) LOVE the drawings that company the story – so perfect and cute! And I’m glad that in spite of the mishaps, Noel (and you) ended up with the perfect tree :) Thanks so much for joining in the holiday fun, and I must say, for a first effort this is amazing! :)

  17. All kinds of fun, Angie! I love the illustrations, too. And it makes it more fun that it’s based on a true happening!

  18. elainekielykearns says:

    What a great, true story! Good luck! :)

  19. Nice to meet you, Angie…Susanna’s contest is wonderful. And so is your story! I love that you took an experience and turned it into a great Christmas tale…and the illustrations are super.

  20. Cecilia says:

    a fun story with BIG ideas. well done. :) I can certainly see this as a Christmas PB for next Christmas

  21. Wonderful! I like how it’s based on a true event ;)

  22. cherylsec says:

    This is adorable! The pictures are wonderful, and I love the ending. lol, so cute!

Leave a Reply

